Welcome!

I am a wife and stay-at-home mother to one darling little girl, with a degree in Psychology and a background working with children ages 2-11.  I have worked in a preschool setting as well as a private nanny.  Children have and will always be one of my greatest passions, and I take great joy in seeing happy and healthy children.

In March of 2011, I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl (Sweet Pea), in my home and without any sort of labor augmentation or pain management.  I credit my self-education, the support of a wonderful husband and midwife, and just a little bit of luck to my great experience.  After an early pregnancy loss and fertility issues, I didn’t go into pregnancy with a lot of confidence in my body, but birth changed all that.  I had a truly transformative experience, and it is now my sworn duty to guide other women toward their own metamorphoses.

Too many women in our culture are deprived of a positive birth experience by a malfunctioning medical system.  Choices in birth are disappearing left and right, and new technologies fail to improve the outcomes for mothers and babies.  The more I learn about our maternal care system, the more I am convinced that it is time for women to stand up and take back what is rightfully theirs — their births.

And it isn’t just in the delivery room where women are being manipulated — mothers are bombarded left and right with “advice” about raising their children.  But how much of this advice is supported with evidence to be the healthiest choice for your child?  Sadly, not much of it.  I have explored some of the alternatives to “normal” feeding, sleeping, and discipline, three of the most volatile decisions facing today’s parents.  I have had great success exploring these “variations on normal,” and believe others will as well.

I invite you to join me.

2 Comments on “Welcome!”

  1. Sammy says:

    Hi MoF- It is me, Sammy again.
    I wanted to give you a link to my blog where I expose the truth about homebirth safety and other things.
    Thanks for reading!
    http://theskepticalmother.blogspot.com/2011/09/truth-about-homebirth.html


Leave a Reply

